Kendra’s hummus with roasted eggplant

2 Jan

Here’s the recipe I make every week…and it disappears every week! It’s super cheap and takes 5 minutes and is soooo good. My good friend Kendra gave me the recipe. It pretty much sealed the friendship 🙂

1 large can garbanzo beans (chickpeas), drained
2-4 cloves garlic, crushed (or 1/2 tsp dried garlic)
1/6 cup water
2-4 Tbsp tahini (opt)
1 Tbsp olive oil
pinch salt
Lemon juice – start with 1/2 lemon and add to taste
1 eggplant, roasted and scooped from peel*

Dump. Purée with stick blender/blender/food processor. Dip.

* The eggplant is optional but SO stinkin’ good. It’s so creamy. Just wrap the eggplant in foil (well!) and toss it in the oven the next time you bake something. When it soft, it’s done. Let cool completely in foil, then unwrap and add to hummus.

3 Responses to “Kendra’s hummus with roasted eggplant”

  1. Mark and Kendra May 26, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    Haha! I loved the caption under the photo! I’m so happy you like this recipe. We’re like you and can’t get enough of it. I wish we had one of those hand blenders. It would be so much easier to make…

  2. wolofnotes January 5, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    Made this today. SO YUMMY!! The eggplant adds so much creaminess and I think absorbs some of the acidity of normal hummus. It’s like a cross between hummus and baba ganoush, which I have no idea how to spell. We ate our with freshly baked pita bread chips. 🙂

  3. Val January 31, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    I also tried this without the chickpeas and tripled the eggplant and it was still very yummy. My husband I think liked it even better that way.

Leave a Reply

